Author Archives: Lucy Santos

HWA Crown Awards 2018: The Winners

Historian and Broadcaster Kate Williams presented the Historical Writers’ Association Crown Awards for 2018 at a party at Swedenborg Hall in Bloomsbury. The winner of the Debut Crown for 2018 was Estoril by Dejan Tiago-Stankovic, the Non-Fiction Crown was awarded to Leanda de Lisle for White King: Charles I – Traitor, Martyr, Murderer and the winner […]

HWA Crowns 2018: The Shortlists

HWA Debut Crown Shortlist 2018 The Optickal Illusion by Rachel Halliburton Populated by a cast of celebrated eighteenth-century painters jockeying for fame and fortune, this delightful tale of high art and low fraud is a celebration of the alchemy of painting and the dangers of unbridled ambition. The Sealwoman’s Gift by Sally Magnusson In this […]

The HWA Crowns Longlist 2018

The HWA Crowns Longlist Thirty six remarkable books will fight it out in the race for the 2018 HWA Crowns, as the longlists for the HWA Crowns 2018 are announced. “Historical Writing is an important part of our culture and also a vital way of understanding that culture,” says HWA chair Imogen Robertson. “ It […]

HWA Crowns 2017

The HWA are delighted to announce the winners of their 2017 Crowns.   Kate Williams, historian, novelist, and broadcaster, was the host for the evening which was held at the Crypt on the Green, Clerkenwell, London.   Over 100 publishers, agents, authors and fans were in attendance to see the winners take home the coveted […]

The Historical Writers’ Association announce the shortlist and winner of the 2017 HWA Dorothy Dunnett Short Story Competition.

The Historical Writers’ Association is pleased to announce the winner and two highly commended entries to the inaugural HWA Dorothy Dunnett Short Story Competition 2017. Winning Entry A Poppy Against the Sky – Annie Whitehead Highly Commended End of the Rope – Majella Cullinane Us girls – Sarah Evans Shortlisted Guilty until Proven Innocent – […]

HWA Crown Shortlists 2017

The Historical Writers’ Association announces the shortlists for its 2017 Endeavour Ink Gold, Debut and Non-Fiction Crowns The Historical Writers’ Association (HWA) are delighted to announce the books that have been shortlisted for their 2017 Gold, Debut and Non-Fiction Crowns. We’re very proud of these shortlists and the outstanding quality of the books selected. These […]