Latest News

The shortlists for the HWA Debut Crown 2015 have been announced.

The Spring of Kasper Meier by Ben Fergusson (Abacus)
Wake by Anna Hope (Black Swan)
The Devil in the Marshalsea by Antonia Hodgson (Hodder)
The Winter Pilgrims by Toby Clements (Century)
The Good Italian by Stephen Burke (Hodder)
The Strangler Vine by MJ Carter (Penguin)

“It’s a testament to the incredible talent of these authors that we couldn’t narrow the shortlist down to merely five books,” says the HWA chair Manda Scott. “We were captivated by their stories, thrilled by their plots and loved their characters. It is going to be a very hard task to pick a winner.”

The Debut Crown Award will be given to the winning author during the 2015 Harrogate History Festival, which takes place on 22-25 October. The prize money is £2,000. The shortlist was announced at the HWA’s annual general meeting on 17 th June 2015.